DoD- Adopted Information Technology Standards, DoD, information management

Keywords adopted standards information technology technology technology standards


The AITS and ITSG together comprise a definition of the service areas supported within the IT domain. This domain is then broken down into lower levels, as is explained below. Through the process of standardization upon a consistent and stable framework, it becomes possible to compare and contrast the efficacy of competing standards and to describe functional requirements, assess standardization needs, and support development of profiles. Each major heading, Major Service Area (MSA), establishes a grouping of services or functionality defined by industry standards and is expressed in a way to be consistent with the manner in which the standards bodies are addressing these groups. The sub-headings, Mid Level Service Area (MLSA) and Base Service Area (BSA), identify more specific, concrete examples of the functionality under the major grouping. The functionality described by the MSAs, MLSAs, and BSAs defines the services available from the application platform across the platform interfaces, application programming interfaces (APIs), and external environment interfaces (EEIs).

Date published
Document type
Data Item Description (DID)
Defines standard
Replaced/Superseded by document(s)
Cancelled by
Amended by
File MIME type Size (KB) Language Download
DoD- Adopted Information Technology Standards.pdf application/pdf   322.03 KB English DOWNLOAD!
File attachments
Cover images

The purpose of the AITS is to guide DoD Enterprise acquisitions and the migration of legacy systems by providing a definitive set of information technology (IT) standards to be used in DoD. These standards provide consistency across the Enterprise, Mission, Function, and Application levels of the DoD Integration Model, as described in Volume 1 of the TAFIM. The goal in providing effective and usable standards guidance is to support the broader TAFIM objectives of:
· Improving user productivity
· Improving development efficiency
· Improving portability and scalability
· Improving interoperability
· Promoting vendor independence
· Reducing life cycle costs
· Improving security
· Improving manageability.

Visit also