Technology Readiness Assessment Deskbook

Keywords technology readiness assessment assessment systematic software technology
Standards groups

Programs that enter the Engineering and Manufacturing Development (EMD) phase of the Defense Acquisition System and have immature technologies will incur cost growth and schedule slippage. Therefore, Title 10 United States Code (U.S.C.) Section 2366b requires, in part, that the Milestone Decision Authority (MDA) certify that the technology in Major Defense Acquisition Programs (MDAPs), including space MDAPS,6 has been demonstrated in a relevant environment (TRL 6) before Milestone B approval. The law allows the MDA to waive the certification requirement (i.e., the technology in the program has been demonstrated in a relevant environment) if it determines that such a requirement would hinder the DoD’s ability to meet critical national security objectives. As a matter of practice, such waivers will be granted only in extraordinary circum- stances.7 The Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics (USD(AT&L)) has directed that all MDAs—including the Component Acquisition Executives (CAEs) and the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Networks and Information Integration (ASD(NII))—for MDAPs will certify without delegation, as r

Date published
Document type
Defence Acquisition Guidebook
Defines standard
Replaced/Superseded by document(s)
Cancelled by
Amended by
File MIME type Size (KB) Language Download
Technology Readiness Assessment Deskbook.pdf application/pdf   637 KB English DOWNLOAD!
File attachments
Cover images
Visit also